Hitting the Foodie Road

One of my husband and I’s favorite things to do is road trip.  

Quick note, if you’re here for the blogging event, it’s about halfway through the post.  🙂

I recently read a post on Picnic Life Foodie about a local place in Ankeny that I’ve been wanting to visit called the Olive Tap.  It got me thinking about all of my foodie adventures I’ve had thus far, so I wanted to give you all a snapshot today.

For the last two years, we’ve been taking road trips with my husband’s mother and grandmother. It’s kind of funny actually.  We can’t put together a bookshelf from Target without ripping each other’s heads off, but we can be stranded in a car together for hours at a time, with my mother-in-law and grandmother-in-law nevertheless.  I don’t ever think I will understand it.

Anyway, we are gearing up for a mini road trip this weekend to Wisconsin to celebrate a friend’s wedding, and then in May we are hitting the road for our honeymoon of road tripping down the East Coast.  Let’s just say that I can’t wait for May.

One of my favorite things to do on road trips is find fun foodie-type places to go.  This last road trip we took in August, I went a little crazy.  I found places in Illinois, Ohio, Kentucky, Tennessee, Georgia, the list goes on.  Not to mention, I also picked all the restaurants.  Who better than the foodie on the trip, right?

So, I’m going to share a few of those experiences with you, and in return, you can participate in my blogging event, The Traveling Foodie!

For this event, simply write a post the foodie places you been to (an awesome restaurant, a cool market, a festival, etc.) and tell us a little bit about the place/event/etc., so we can go visit it ourselves!  And, a picture of some good-lookin’ food never hurts. 🙂 Make sure to add the tag “traveling foodie”, so everyone can find it!

Top:  Table Top Farm is a local CSA in Nevada, IA that I was able to visit as part of a seminar at Iowa State.  We learned about their farming practices and what they do as farmers.  This was one of my favorite pictures of a kale bush.

Bottom left:  This was a photo of some cheese curds at Cheese Days in Monroe, WI.  It’s a local festival that’s held in September.  There’s FANTASTIC cheese curds, a ton of cheeses to buy, beers, and a ton of activities and fun.

Bottom center:  A delicious chocolate torte from one of my favorite restaurants in Ames, The Cafe.  They always have stellar foods and desserts, not to mention they buy some of their food from local producers.

Bottom right:  A delicious shellfish paella I had in northern Spain when I was there last summer.  I have so much I could say about Spain, but I will share that in another post.  Bottom line is go to Spain; it’s the most wonderful place in the world.  Period.

Now that I’ve shared a few of my foodie adventures outside of home, I better share my adventures at home:  this week’s meal plan!

Tuesday:  Rump Roast with Potatoes and Carrots  We ended up eating out for some reason or another.  Definitely not because I had a MASSIVE craving for a particular Chinese restaurant….

Wednesday:  Sage Mac and Cheese with Shaved Ham

20160120_183421

Thursday:  Rosemary Chicken with Mushroom Sauce, Leftover Mac, and Steamed Broccoli

20160121_182549

Friday:  Shredded Beef Sloppy Joes with Steamed Green Beans  We sinned again and ate out.  Can’t dirty dishes right before vacation, right?

Saturday/Sunday:  We were in Wisconsin!  (See awesome foodie adventures below.  Roll over/click the pictures for captions.)

Monday:  Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

20160125_194940

Tuesday:  Shredded BBQ Chicken Sandwiches with Leftover Soup and Roasted Dill Carrots

Wednesday:  Crockpot Asian Short Ribs with Roasted Fennel

That’s all for today!  As always, keep your mind sharp and your knives sharper.

